2013 – Your Best Year Yet

People approach the ending of one year and the beginning of another in many different ways. One thing that most of us do is reflect and then make adjustments (resolutions, if you will) for the coming year.

Over the last couple of years, I have rejected the notion of a resolution list or even the idea of making a “blanket” life goal for a new year. Instead, I have employed just one line of thinking that I will carry from last year over into this new year.

Live your best life.

I have written about this many, many times; but, this is the only shot you get. I have long since given up on perfection as the world views it. I have long since stopped living as my friends and family see fit. Instead, I’m living my life.
This means there will be days when I “get it right”. I will make mistakes on other days. Some days I will be the model of strength and grace. There may be other times when I’m vulnerable, insecure, and weak. Sometimes I will think of others before myself. Then I will turn around and do something selfishly just for me. I will handle particular circumstances with the patience of Job. The very next day, I may want things done NOW! I will walk through some days with a heart full of gratitude for what God has blessed me with. Then there will be other days when I will sprint from morning til night and fall into my bed without one grateful thought.

The point is this: I think resolutions are great, if you can maintain that way of living. I, for one, embrace the fact that I am human. I embrace all that comes with it, as well. For me, each turn of the calendar year is a time of reflection. I like to do a “Year in Review” where I can see what I have accomplished and areas that I failed to live my best life. I like to take the time to thank individuals in my life who have chosen to walk this journey with me. I like to also thank those who have left my life (by their choosing or my own), for they have brought their own value to my journey – both good and bad.

Overall, 2012 was an incredible year of change, risks, and adventures for me. I am in awe of all that I have experienced.
I don’t know what 2013 holds for me. In the deepest recesses of my heart, I have tucked away a few hopes and desires. I have set a few professional and financial goals for myself. Mostly, my hands and arms are open to all the possibilities that will be brought my way.

But for those things I can control, I say this:
My best life yet will include active, authentic participation by me in the lives of my little elves, my family, my friends, and my profession. It will include more awareness of this present moment. My life will always be dictated by my love for myself and those around me. My best life will be one of gratitude to God for all that my senses allow me to experience and share with others. My best life will always continue to be MINE!!

May you embrace 2013 as YOUR year yet.

Live well…and live your best life.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mauriceabarry
    Jan 01, 2013 @ 11:12:05

    Beautiful sentiment–nicely said!

    Like

    Reply

  2. elfinfun
    Jan 01, 2013 @ 11:23:09

    Thank you so much. Happy 2013 to you!!

    Like

    Reply

  3. Ashley
    Jan 05, 2013 @ 09:32:45

    May your non-resolution hold true in 2013 as you continue your journey. Happy New Year!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment

Disciple U:

A Disciple is an Apprentice who practices feeling, being, and thinking like the one they follow. Jesus says, the Kingdom of Heaven is in you. Prayer shifts our attention from the world around us to experience the Kingdom of Heaven in us.

The Alternate Path

Thoughts on Walking the Path of Christian Discipleship

Alison L Bradley

courage for a better story

Growing Up & Growing Away

A Journey with My Teenage Daughters

Manda's Wonderland

my life, my lessons

Butterscotch Pies & A Cashmere Shawl

Reflections on our mortal dilemma

Views From My Pod

A collection of pictures from those things that inspire me the most.

Fifty-Two Weeks

A Year of Simple Pleasures

live life now

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Bent, Not Broken - My Life Well-Lived

My thoughts on journeying through life and love...doing so with grace.

The Kindness Project 2016

"No Act of Kindness is Ever Wasted" by Aesop

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Jamaica Homes

Jamaica Homes: Find Your Dream Property in Jamaica. Search Homes for Sale & Rent.

confessionsofabengali

I'm the British Bengali girl, exposing the secrets of our homes and families. They'll hate me, and you'll be shocked.